Complete Texts of Thomas Hardy's Novels

Hardys literary reputation his fame and fortune was based entirely upon his appeal as a novelist. Widespread public acclaim came with his fourth novelFar from the Madding Crowd(1874) sufficient to allow him to abandon his architectural career in favour of the less certain path of a writer of imaginative fiction. Over the ensuing twenty years he published a further ten novels, variably received at the time. However in his final five novels a sequence beginning withThe Mayor of Casterbridge(1886) he found his mature voice, producing fiction which upset Mrs Grundy and in one case (Jude)was burnt by the Bishop of Wakefield, ensuring his place in the premier elite of English novelists.

Hardys professed desire was to be a poet and how frequently does the poets eye surface within his fiction stating with typical (and ironic) modesty that he wished no more than to be considered a good hand at a serial. In accordance of with the habit of the time, his novels first appeared in monthly instalments in magazines before being published in three volume form.

Each link contains a description and critical appreciation of each of Hardys novels written by Professor Michael Irwin, distinguished Hardy Scholar and former Chairman of the Thomas Hardy Society.

Hardy Novels
Society calendar
Upcoming events
Latest news
The Thomas Hardy Society 2024
HomeJoin usMenuContact us

This website uses cookies

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners who may combine it with other information that you've provided to them or that they've collected from your use of their services. You consent to our cookies if you continue to use our website.

OK Accept Cookies